Art & Architecture

Thom Filicia ’92, interior design expert, Queer Eye for the Straight Guy

Bruce Fowle ’60, founding principal, Fox & Fowle Architects

Adam Gross ’79, principal, Ayers/Saint/Gross Architects

Richard Hayden ’60, principal and chairman, Swanke Hayden and Connell architectural firm

Betsey Johnson ’64, fashion designer

Warren Kimble ’57, internationally known Vermont-based contemporary folk artist

Sol LeWitt ’41, modern artist, key creator of minimalism and conceptual art

Bill Viola ’73, internationally recognized video artist



Jim Brown ’57, actor and NFL running back, Letterwinner at SU in basketball, football and lacrosse, inducted to the Football Hall of Fame in 1971 and also inducted into the Lacrosse Hall of Fame

Ernie Davis ’61, SU football running back and the first African-American to win the Heisman Trophy

Dwight Freeney ’02, Super Bowl Champion, Indianapolis Colts

Gary Gait ’90, 2 time National Player of the Year, 2 time McLaughlin Award (Midfielder of the Year) winner, National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, National Lacrosse League Hall of Fame

Julie McBride ’04, All-time Syracuse women’s basketball scoring and assist leader. Currently a member of the Artego Bydgoszcz Basketball team.

Donovan McNabb ’98, former professional football player, quarterbacked the Philadelphia Eagles, Washington Redskins and Minnesota Vikings

Kathrine Switzer ’68, G’72, first woman to enter the Boston Marathon, author of Marathon Woman, and Emmy Award-winning TV commentator

Etan Thomas ’00, NBA player, poet, author of More Than an Athlete: Poems by Etan Thomas



Joyce Carol Oates ’60, author, We Were the Mulvaneys, Faithless: Tales of Transgression, Them

Alice Sebold ’84, author, The Lovely Bones, Lucky, and The Almost Moon

Cheryl Strayed G’02, author, Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail, Tiny Beautiful Things: Advice on Love and Life from Dear Sugar


College and University Leaders

Charles Baquet G’75, director, Center for Intercultural and International Programs at Xavier University

Molly Corbett Broad ’62, former president, University of North Carolina

Michael Crow D’85, president, Arizona State University

Donna Shalala G’70, H’87, former U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services, former president of the University of Miami, member of the Institute of Medicine


Corporate Executives

Louis Giuliano ’68, former president and CEO, ITT Industries; senior advisor, The Carlyle Group

Bronagh Mullan Hanley ’90, director of consumer public relations, Netflix

Peter Hebert ’99, co-founder and CEO, Lux Research; co-founder and managing partner, Lux Capital

Marvin Lender ’63, former president, Lender’s Bagels

Ross Love ’68, president and CEO, Blue Chip Enterprises

John Mandyck ’89, G’92, vice president of government and international relations, Carrier Corp

Elsa Reichmanis ’72, G’75, director of materials research, Lucent Bell Labs

John Sykes ’77, president of network development, MTV Network


Entertainment Industry

Brad Anderson ’51, creator of syndicated comic panel, Marmaduke

Robb Armstrong ’85, creator of Jump Start syndicated comic strip, children’s author

Emme Aronson ’85, supermodel, television host, best-selling author, clothing designer

Craig Borten ’87, Oscar-nominated screenwriter of Dallas Buyers Club

Dick Clark ’51, television icon and producer who hosted American Bandstand for decades

Denise Cramsey ’90, producer, House Wars; former executive producer, Trading Spaces, Extreme Makeover: Home Edition

Taye Diggs ’93, stage, screen, and television actor

Arielle Tepper Madover ’94, theatrical and film producer, recent productions: Monty Python’s Spamalot, Frost/Nixon

Jessie Mueller ’05, Tony-Award winning actress for Carole King – The Musical

Lou Reed ’64, singer-songwriter and guitarist, The Velvet Underground

Chris Renaud ’89, Oscar-nominated director of Despicable Me and Despicable Me 2

Tom Everett Scott ’92, actor, Saved, That Thing You Do!, An American Werewolf in Paris, One True Thing, NBC’s ER

Aaron Sorkin ’83, creator, NBC’s The Newsroom, playwright and screenwriter, The Social Network and Moneyball

Jerry Stiller ’50, stage, screen, and television actor, most recently on King of Queens, CBS

Charles J. “C.J.” Strock ’00, agent, Podell Talent Agency (clients include The Allman Brothers Band, Peter Gabriel, Van Halen, and Gavin DeGraw)

Vanessa L. Williams ’86, national recording artist and actress


Dennis Crowley ’98, co-founder, Foursquare

Eric Mower ’66, G’68, chairman and CEO, Eric Mower and Associates, the largest advertising agency in the state outside of New York City

Ian Schrager ’68, hotelier, co-founder and owner of Studio 54

Gianfranco Zaccai ’70, design strategist, president, and CEO of Design Continuum Inc.


Journalists and Media Executives

Samantha Brown ’92, Travel Channel host and luggage designer

Diane Camper ’68, assistant editorial page editor, Baltimore Sun

Bob Costas ’74, sports announcer, NBC, HBO

Megyn Kelly ’92, anchor, The Kelly File, Fox News

Rami Khouri ’70, G’98, international journalist specializing in Middle Eastern affairs

Ted Koppel ’60, former anchor of ABC News Nightline; managing editor, Discovery Channel; contributing columnist, The New York Times

Hilton J. Kramer ’50, H’76, former New York Times art critic; Art News editor; founder, editor, and publisher of The New Criterion

Steve Kroft ’67, co-editor and news correspondent, CBS, 60 Minutes

Jim Morin ’75, Pulitzer Prize-winning editorial cartoonist, the Miami Herald

Mike Tirico ’88, sportscaster, ESPN/NBC

Robin Toner ’76, front page political reporter, The New York Times



Belva Ann Lockwood 1857, G1872, H 1909, women’s rights pioneer and first woman to argue a case before the U.S. Supreme Court

Elliot Portnoy ’86, chairman, Sonnenschien Nath & Rosenthal Law Firm


National and State Government Officials

Joseph Biden G’68, Former Vice President of the United States

David Bing ’66, H’06, Mayor of Detroit, former NBA player, Basketball Hall of Fame

Steven Rothman G’74, member of Congress


Space Exploration

Waleed Abdalati ’86, NASA Chief Scientist

Col. Eileen Collins ’78, first female space shuttle pilot and commander

Story Musgrave ’58, NASA astronaut, physician, and consultant to Disney’s Imagineering group

Sean C. O’Keefe G’78, former administrator of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)

His Royal Highness Prince Sultan bin Salman Al Saud G’99, youngest person to fly on the space shuttle, first member of a royal family in space


Others of Note

Cissy Elm ’94, director, HIV/AIDS Program of the American Indian Community House in New York City and Syracuse

Jennifer Spaulding ’98, buyer (youngest ever), Macy’s East Herald Square

John Tsebe ’81, first black national librarian in South Africa